Content Box: 

Sunday, November 18 - 7:30 PM


St. Mark's Church, Washington DC

Something borrowed, something new: Schubert’s work for the arpeggione—an instrument that enjoyed a brief vogue in the 1820s—shines on the viola, and Ravel’s incorporation of the American blues into his sonata memorializes the musical spirit of the 1920s. Dvořák borrows as well, fusing a Czech folk idiom with 19th-century Romanticism.


Franz Schubert

Arpeggione Sonata in A minor, D. 821 (arr. for viola and piano)

Maurice Ravel

Sonata No. 2 for Violin & Piano in G major

Antonín Dvořák

Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 87


St. Mark's Church

301 A Street SE

Washington, DC

View on google maps